2019 Oscars Winners

Here are the winners from last night’s 2019 Oscars.

This year was the first time in the award’s history that it didn’t have a host. Let’s find out about all those all-important winners..

Best Picture

Winner: Green Book


Best Director

Winner: Alfonso Cuaron in Roma


  • Yorgos Lanthimos, The Favourite
  • Spike Lee, BlacKkKlansman
  • Adam McKay, Vice
  • Pawel Pawlikowski, Cold War

Best Actress

Winner: Olivia Colman, The Favourite


  • Yalitza Aparicio, Roma
  • Glenn Close, The Wife
  • Lady Gaga, A Star Is Born
  • Melissa McCarthy, Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Best Actor

Winner: Rami Malek, Bohemian Rhapsody


  • Christian Bale, Vice
  • Bradley Cooper, A Star Is Born
  • Willem Dafoe, At Eternity’s Gate
  • Viggo Mortensen, Green Book

Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Winner: Mahershala Ali, Green Book


  • Adam Driver, BlacKkKlansman
  • Sam Elliott, A Star Is Born
  • Richard E. Grant, Can You Ever Forgive Me?
  • Sam Rockwell, Vice

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Winner:  Regina King, If Beale Street Could Talk


Best Foreign-Language Film

Winner: Roma, Mexico


  • Capernaum, Lebanon
  • Cold War, Poland
  • Never Look Away, Germany
  • Shoplifters, Japan

Original Song

Winner: Shallow from A Star Is Born by Lady Gaga, Mark Ronson, Anthony Rossomando, Andrew Wyatt and Benjamin Rice


  • All The Stars from Black Panther, by Kendrick Lamar, SZA
  • I’ll Fight from RBG by Diane Warren, Jennifer Hudson
  • The Place Where Lost Things Go from Mary Poppins Returns by Marc Shaiman, Scott Wittman
  • When A Cowboy Trades His Spurs For Wings from The Ballad of Buster Scruggs by Willie Watson, Tim Blake Nelson

Best Documentary Feature

Winner:  Free Solo


  • Hale County This Morning, This Evening
  • Minding the Gap
  • Of Fathers and Sons
  • RBG

Best Animated Feature

Winner: Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse


Best Animated Short

Winner: Bao


  • Animal Behaviour
  • Late Afternoon
  • One Small Step
  • Weekends

Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Green Book (Brian Hayes Currie, Peter Farrelly and Nick Vallelonga)


  • The Favourite (Deborah Davis and Tony McNamara)
  • First Reformed (Paul Schrader)
  • Roma (Alfonso Cuaron)
  • Vice (Adam McKay)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: BlacKkKlansman (Spike Lee, David Rabinowitz, Charlie Wachtel and Kevin Willmott)


  • A Star Is Born (Bradley Cooper, Will Fetters and Eric Roth)
  • The Ballad of Buster Scruggs (Joel Coen and Ethan Coen)
  • If Beale Street Could Talk (Barry Jenkins)
  • Can You Ever Forgive Me? (Nicole Holofcener and Jeff Whitty)

Best Original Score

Winner: Black Panther, Ludwig Goransson


Best Visual Effects

Winner: First Man

Best Cinematography

Winner: Roma, Alfonso Cuaron


  • The Favourite, Robbie Ryan
  • Never Look Away, Caleb Deschanel
  • A Star Is Born, Matty Libatique
  • Cold War, Lukasz Zal

Best Documentary Short Subject

Winner: Period. End of Sentence.


  • Black Sheep
  • End Game
  • Lifeboat
  • A Night at the Garden

Best Live-Action Short

Winner: Skin


  • Detainment
  • Fauve
  • Marguerite
  • Mother

Best Film Editing

Winner: Bohemian Rhapsody, John Ottman


Best Sound Editing

Winner: Bohemian Rhapsody


Best Costume Design

Winner: Black Panther (Ruth E. Carter)


Best Production Design

Winner: Black Panther (Hannah Beachler and Jay Hart)


Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Winner: Vice


  • Border
  • Mary Queen of Scots

Hope you enjoyed the summary.

By Ruth Walker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s